Teacher Training – Week one

teachertraining-large

After countless chaturangas, I figured that when this morning rolled around that I wouldn’t be able to move. But I didn’t really notice how sore I was until I had crawled up 4 fights of stairs to get to work Monday morning. All the while trying to catch my breath while my legs burned.

Some asked me why I would ever do such a thing, spending 28 hours a weekend doing yoga type things and some encouraged me. I decided to listen to the encouragement, take a leap, do something for me. And I am so glad that I did. In less than three days, I have become part of a really great community, already at ease to share thoughts, ideas and experiences. Being with so many like minded people is such a great experience.

Friday afternoon was very nerve racking looking at the clock every 5 minutes until 4:15 hit so that I could head off to training. All I could think about was the email I had received at the beginning of the week telling me a couple things I could expect that night.

After having spent the weekend with the group, I have no idea why I was so nervous. I’ve learned a lot already and met some really great people.

I now can start teaching my friends yoga! After this weekend, I know that I need work on my volume and be more engaging. While I thought I was taking really loudly, everyone else did not.

For me, that will be the hardest part. I’m not a very loud person, usually I’m laid back and in the background. Not the one drawing attention to myself and for this job, that is exactly what I’ll be doing.

Why not?! It’s time for a change! I don’t need to be the one chilling in the corner, I can step up and be the center of attention, talk loudly and

Its only the first weekend, but already I can tell that, this is worth the experience. I’ll wait to recommend it to anyone until, I finish the program, but I have a feeling I know what the answer will be!

 

Read the rest of the Series:

Read The Extras:

2 thoughts on “Teacher Training – Week one

Leave a Comment