Whats on your Mind?

om

When I sat down at my desk this morning, I started to write down things that I thought of up until lunch. In just 3 and 1/2 hours, the following entered my brain and interrupted my work.

  1. Wedding Plans
  2. Blog posts and what to write
  3. Repeating sanskrit words to myself
  4. I really need a bookmark for Yoga Sutras (so I made one as seen above)
  5. I should put this list into a blog post
  6. That picture is really funny (window washers dressed as super heroes for the children’s hospital)
  7. Teacher training
  8. Life and Death
  9. Bills and money
  10. I’m sitting on yet another chair, my ass hurts
  11. Actual work that I should be doing (surprise!)
  12. What should I have for lunch?
  13. Were yoga teachers always happy and bubbly before they took training?
  14. Have I gotten any new emails?
  15. Did that package I ordered come yet?

Yikes! How on earth can anyone focus on work when you have this much going through your head all day?? If I could rid myself of all this mind-stuff, perhaps I could actually focus on work! I’m not even sure how some of these things came to mind. I mean who sits at their desk and thinks of life and death anyway?

What do you have floating around your mind all day? If you got rid of it, what could you do? Focus on work? Maybe even spend less time in the office. Spend more time with your family and friends?

Take some time in the morning and just sit down, close your eyes (just don’t fall asleep), take a few deep breaths and try to calm your mind. You don’t need all of this floating through your head. If it is really important it can wait until lunch break, or until you get home after work.

Leave a Comment

