Practice to Avoid the Chaos

Yoga on a beach

I practice these observances out of a desire to avoid the chaos that comes of not practicing them and out of a desire to know the truth about myself.

— Meditations from the Mat, Day 61
by Rolf Gates and Katrina Kenison

I read this entry in Meditations from the Mat last night. I highlighted this quote as I thought was a good statement. However, this morning, the actual meaning behind this quote hit me in the face like a ton of bricks!

What a wake up call!

I realized that I don’t practice because I feel good, I practice to feel good.

A couple weeks ago I got a cold and a few symptoms are lingering. Especially in the morning. I have to have a bottle of water and a cough drop before I can even get to my car without coughing my brains out (sounds like fun right?). But not long after that yoga class starts, I find myself being able to breathe a bit better. By the time the class is over, I feel amazing! No more sore throat, no coughing, and no congestion.

That is why I get up at 5:15am and drive to class. To start my day off right and feel better by the time I get to work, to avoid the chaos of cold side affects. (trying to take phone calls while coughing with a scratchy throat is not fun)

When you get up in the morning, take a few minutes to figure out what you need to avoid the chaos. Do you need a yoga class? More sleep? A day to rest?

Even if you don’t feel like getting out of bed early in the morning, maybe that is what you need so that you can feel good throughout your day.

Leave a Comment

