Getting Feedback

Throughout the job I’ve had for the last 2 years, and even during teacher training, feedback has been a bit of a disliked term for me.

In work it usually meant that something went wrong, all it was was “Good Job” or it came from a client I couldn’t remember working with. None of which left me feeling great about the word Feedback.

Since teaching at a local gym, I’ve come to miss that feedback that I got during teacher training. I’m realizing that its not a bad thing, feedback is feedback and it is something to learn with. While the reasons you get feedback could have been about something you did good, or something you need to work on, getting feedback is good.

Almost like your own personal book, and I read a lot! So why wouldn’t I want to learn even more from something that is completely personalize for me?

Next Tuesday I start assisting with one of the teachers that taught some classes during training. I’m really excited about that, because I know that she will give great feedback. She won’t sugar coat it, and she wont give feedback that makes no sense or isn’t useful. It will be exactly what I need.

While I have been taking feedback in a bad way for a very long time, I’m going to keep an open mind about it from now on.

How do you take feedback?

Leave a Comment

